Tash-Hauli palace in Khiva

In the period of Allakuli-khan (1825-1842) the political, public and trading center of Khiva had moved to the east part of Ichan-Qala. The new complex formed at the gates of Palvan-darvaza: new palace, madrassah, caravanserai and shopping mall (tim). The palace of Allakuli-khan was named as Tash-Hauli ("Stone courtyard"). It looks like a fortress with high battlements, towers and fortified gates. Its architecture based on traditions of Khorezm houses and country villas ("hauli") with enclosed courtyards, shady column aivans and loggias.

 Tash-Hauli consists of three parts grouped around of inner courtyards. The northern part was occupied by khan's harem. The formal reception room-ishrat-hauli adjoins the last one on the southeast; court office (arz-khana)-on the southwest. In the center of ishrat-hauli there is a round platform for khan's yurt. Long labyrinths of dark corridors and rooms connected different parts of the palace. Refined majolica on walls, colored paintings on ceiling, carved columns and doors are distinctive features of Tash-Hauli decor. 

The corridor separated family courtyard of Tash-Hauli (harem or haram) from the official part. Its southern side is occupied by five main rooms: apartments of khan and his four wives. The two-storied structure along perimeter of the court yard intended for servants, relatives and concubines. Each aivan of harem represents a masterpiece of Khiva applied art. Their walls, ceilings and columns expose unique ornamental patterns. Majolica wall panels were performed in traditional blue and white color. Red-brown paintings cover ceilings. Copper openwork lattices decorate the windows.